Friday, June 26, 2009

Raytheon Facilities Earn Cogswell Award for Outstanding Security Practices

Raytheon Facilities Earn Cogswell Award for Outstanding Security Practices
June 26, 2009

TEWKSBURY, Mass. and TUCSON, Ariz., -- Two Raytheon Company (NYSE: RTN) facilities have been awarded the 2009 James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Award from the Defense Security Service (DSS).

Raytheon Integrated Defense Systems' Surveillance & Sensors Center, Sudbury, Mass., and Raytheon Missile Systems' East Camden, Ark., facility were among the 14 facilities named by DSS as this year's winners.

The Surveillance & Sensors Center provides innovative and mission critical technology for key Raytheon programs including Cobra Judy Replacement, Surveillance Radar Program, the Zumwalt Class Destroyer, Dual Band Radar and in-service AEGIS radars.

"We're honored to receive this recognition of our security practices," said John Letendre, mission center executive for the Raytheon IDS Surveillance & Sensors Center. "The award underscores our 'no doubt' commitment to our warfighters and our dedication to maintaining a world-class security program."

The Weapon Integration Center - Camden assembles, tests and delivers the Tomahawk Cruise Missile, Evolved Sea Sparrow Missile and Standard Missile on its 300-acre secure campus.

"Security is a team effort, and the Cogswell Award represents the dedication and commitment of our 143 employees," said Randy Graham, general manager of the Camden facility. "Everyone takes great pride in this award, which validates our proactive approach to security."

To be considered for the Cogswell Award, facilities must be nominated by their assigned Industrial Security Representatives and earn two consecutive superior industrial security review ratings. The facilities must also display a sustained degree of excellence and innovation in overall security program management, implementation and oversight. Less than one percent of the more than 12,500 cleared contractors in the United States receive the award each year.

Technorati Tags:

No comments: